Coimbra is a Portuguese city, capital of the district of Coimbra, in the Central Region of Portugal, the sub-region of Baixo Mondego and Beira Litoral with about 143 396 inhabitants. As the largest urban center is a reference center in the Beiras region, with over two million inhabitants. It is considered the third largest city of Portugal.

Historically university town because of the University of Coimbra, founded in 1290, currently has about 30 000 students.

Bathed by the Mondego River, Coimbra is home to a municipality with 319.4 km ² and 143 396 inhabitants (2011), divided into 18 parishes.

The city is bordered to the north by the municipality of Aveiro, east of Penacova, Vila Nova de Poiares and Miranda do Corvo, to the south by Condeixa-a-Nova, west of Montemor-o-Velho and northwest by Canterbury.

It is considered one of the most important Portuguese cities for infrastructure, organizations and businesses in addition to its historical importance and privileged geographical position in the center backbone of the country. Coimbra is also reference in the areas of Education and Health.

The municipal holiday is the 4th of July in memory of Queen Isabel, patron of the city.

Was National Capital of Culture in 2003 and is one of the oldest cities in the country, having been the capital of the Kingdom, and has as main ex-libris your University, the oldest in Portugal and Portuguese-speaking countries, and one of the most oldest in Europe.

Premium Footwear for your dream holidays